Cambridge University Association Football Club


Cambridge University Association Football Club is an amateur football club representing the University of Cambridge. University publications seem to indicate that the club was founded in either 1856 or 1857, unofficially making it the oldest club in the world.

The city of Cambridge has long been synonymous with footballing history; it was here, in 1846, that the ‘Cambridge Rules’ of football were drawn up by university footballers from several public schools, laying the foundations for football as we know it today.

Cambridge University provided almost fifty England internationals in the early years of the twentieth century, and its contribution to the national game was acknowledged when it was given a seat on the Football Association Council – something it still holds today.

There are five teams who represent the university: the Men’s and Women’s Blues, the first teams who currently play in their respective BUCS Midlands 1A divisions; the Falcons, the Men’s second team who play in Midlands 3B; the Eagles, the Women’s Second team who play in the Cambridgeshire Sunday League; and the Kestrels, the Men’s third team who play against representative sides over the course of the season.

All five teams play a Varsity Match at the end of the year against Oxford. For the Blues, this game has taken place at such historic venues as Wembley, Selhurst Park and Craven Cottage.

The Blues originally played their home games on Parker’s Piece, before moving to Grange Road and then Fenner’s. As of 2016, the Men’s club is based at the Cambridge United training facilities (owned by Clare College), with the Women using both Fenner’s and Fitzwilliam College playing fields.

There are annual tours for CUAFC squads, with recent trips to Beijing, La Manga and Valencia.

Club Honours:

Men's Blues:

2017-18: Men's BUCS Midlands Division 1A - Champions

2012-13: Men's BUCS Midlands Division 1A - Champions

2011-12: Men's BUCS Midlands Division 2A - Champions

Women's Blues:

2016-17: Midlands Division 2B - Champions

2013-14: Midlands Conference Cup - Champions

2013-14: Midlands Division 2B - Champions

2011-12: Midlands Division 2B - Champions


2016-17: Men's BUCS Midlands Division 4D - Champions

2009-10: Men's BUCS Midlands Division 5D - Champions